moby wrap

This is how I spend most of the day…..with Saige in the Moby Wrap.  This is the best thing ever.  Forget The Bjorn (which I do still use for those moments that you need a quick in and out) but if you want comfort you must use The Moby.  I wish I had this when Ryder was little, it would have saved my back.  My friend turned me on to The Moby, it’s about 4 yards of fabric and you wrap it around you to make the openings for the baby- there are all different ways to “wear” the baby in a Moby- from the cradle hold, to a side/hip hold to on your back- all with this one long piece of fabric.  And you never get the “burning back”, it distributes the baby’s weight perfectly.  Also the baby is all cozy, wrapped in the fabric.  You can even nurse with them still in the wrap (but you have to be wearing the right shirt-preferably a button down and they should be in the cradle hold) but the option is there should you want to.  I even sew with her in the wrap.  Another nice feature is that their head doesn’t bob all over, just pull the wrap over their head and it hold it snug to your body so if you bend over you don’t necessarily have to hold their head (but you still may for precautionary measures). 

Sorry to sound like an ad for The Moby but if you don’ have it and you wear your baby a lot- it’s a must have.  The only thing that may scare people is figuring out how to do all the different wraps- it takes a couple times (use the mirror) but then you’re good to go without having to look in the mirror.

I am all about wearing my children, I feel it creates a great bond and too often in our society we have all these gadgets (swings, bouncy chairs, car seats, play yards, etc.) that some days the only time people are connected with their infant is during feedings.  Now, I’m not saying I don’t use the items listed above (the bouncy chair is how I am able to take a shower) but those items are used minimally.  The human touch is one of the most important thing for infants  – so it’s great when you can wear your baby comfortably.  And if your baby is anything like Saige- if you want to get anything accomplished -it’s a must to have the moby.  She REALLY likes to be held (which is fine by me because before you know it they are way too big to be held.

“Mother’s arms are made of tenderness,
and sweet sleep blesses the child who lies therein.”
— Victor Hugo