We’ve been using all of our diapers and covers from Ryder for Saige, but I have finally decided that some of the covers are just too worn so I went to my favorite place to order diapers and covers (greenmountaindiapers.com) and ordered a couple new covers for Saige.  They are so cute and girlie ( I couldn’t resist). 

girlie diaperflower cover

But as I was browsing through the website I stumbled upon the “how to” page- wondering if there were any differences with diapering a girl vs. a boy – I found my new favorite way to fold the “prefolds”  – it’s called the “twist”.  You twist the diaper in the center and fan out the front and the back.  It leaves less bulk but still gives that added absorbency in all the right places.  If you are into cloth diapering check it out and give it a try.  So far so good.

the twist

According to Franklin & Associates and The American Petroleum Institute…..

It takes 3.5 BILLION gallons of oil and 250,000 trees to produce the 18 BILLION disposable diapers used every year! 

There is little chance of disposable diapers EVER decomposing.

An estimated 6,000 – 10,000 disposable diapers are used per child per year!

These are some staggering statistics.