I am so addicted to Paul Simon’s most recent album, Surprise.  It’s just a reminder of what a great songwriter and musician he is.  He has managed to transcend generations and eras flawlessly.  I have always been a huge Paul Simon fan.  We’ve been lucky enough to see him a few times- most recently being in October of 2006 when he was on tour promoting Surprise.  We saw him at the Greek Theater in Berkeley (what an amazing place to see a show!  We love that venue- the acoustics are great, its outdoors, and you are on one of the greatest campuses around- it’s got its own energy.) 

I digress, anyways; this album has songs dealing with the world today and the issues at hand (not many musicians now a days sing about anything that’s relevant).  Well not most of the music on the radio, anyways.  Here I am saying “now a days” acting like I’m some old lady (I think I was born 20 years late or I must be reincarnated).  But during the 60’s and early 70’s there was so much turmoil and unrest and a revolution was going on (with the youth) and the musicians were singing about it and getting  people excited and turned on and involved.  We are in a time, very much reflective of that era and not any are singing about it.  I like to see Musicians who sing about “something” and something positive.  Don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing wrong with escaping reality and just jamming out to some happy go lucky lyrics and music (i.e. the Grateful Dead) but sometimes you need that poetic reminder of what’s going on around you. So all in all, I’m telling you to go out and buy Surprise and hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

“What we play is life”  Louis Armstrong