So, this is what’s been keeping me from my blogging and my sewing.

Once we got the beds built we needed to get the garden going.  We finally got most of our veggies and herbs in.  We planted lots of different lettuce, swiss chard, spinach, arugula, thyme, basil, cilantro, fennel, chives, eggplant, peppers, cauliflower, cucumbers, tomatoes, pole beans, and we added a couple more strawberry plants to our patch. 

 I think that’s about it.  Oh ya, I have some carrot seeds we need to get in the ground this week.  It may sound like a lot but you should visit my friends blog ( a sonoma garden- link to the right) she’s got tons!  She needs to start her own market out of her backyard. 

So our lettuce has started to grow

we tried it out the other day and can start making salads – that’s my favorite – to go out to the garden and get my greens for our salad.  The arugula is super spicy- boy is it yummy!

The fruit trees are looking great

The Santa Rosa plum

our peach tree – love that furry fruit

In between getting the garden in order we are doing a mini remodel in the kitchen.  It’s kinda like sewing, I would so much rather create a skirt/shirt/pants from scratch than to try to alter someone elses work.  Same thing with remodeling, sometimes it’s easier just gutting and starting from scratch.  But we are “altering” – so we run into some snags here and there- but it should be done within the next week or so.  Then we can take a breath.

It is all so worth it- especially since we’ve been picking our strawberries and eating our fresh greens.