Well, the weather finally cooled off a bit so I was able to turn on the oven yesterday and Ryder and I got busy baking. 

 

I tried out the recipe for zucchini chocolate chip cookies from AVMand they are awesome!  The whole fam loves them.  I even brought some to my co-workers to try and they too liked them.  For those of you who have tons of zucchini this is a great way to use them up- and who can ever get tired of chocolate chip cookies!?

I was in the baking mood yesterday (which isn’t normal b/c I like to cook more- you know a little bit of this, a little bit of that.  I’m not into measuring). 

But I have been wanting to try this recipe for Honey wheat flax seed and sunflower seed bread (minus the sunflower seeds b/c I didn’t have any).  Well it was fabulous!  I recently dusted off my bread machine – which was sitting on the pantry floor for the last 5 years, if not more, and have been loving it.   Ryder and I love to make bread now.  It’s so easy, the house smells great when there is fresh bread baking.  And say what you want about the bread machines, but I think it’s wonderful, you can have fresh bread all the time.  I know it’s not quite the same as getting your hands in there and kneading the bread yourself- but when you have 2 kids, a job, lots of hobbies, etc, this makes it easy to have fresh, healthy bread with no preservatives.  And talk about cheap.  A loaf of bread costs you pennies when you break it all down.

So go dig out the bread maker that you haven’t touched for years, dust it off and watch how excited everyone is when there is a fresh loaf of bread baking.  I use it too for pizza dough (which I must say is the best pizza dough recipe- thanks Kendra.  It’s also great for kids – it’s easy and fun for them to watch – Ryder loves to check the status of the bread. 

  Here are a couple of my faves I’ve found, hope you and your family enjoy them too.

Flax and sunflower seed bread

Pizza Dough (adapted from the Bread Machine Cookbook)

       1 1/3 C. Water

       2T olive oil

       1 1/2 t. salt

       4C. flour

      1 1/2 t. yeast

set on dough cycle. Makes 4 thin crust medium pizzas.  Bake @ 500 degree F. for 10 – 15 minutes.

if you want thicker crust let rise for 30 minutes after rolling out dough.