My mom saved a lot of our things from childhood (clothes, dolls, toys, books, games, etc).  I’m so grateful for that- I had so much fun going through the bins of things from my past.  Since they are in Chicago and we are in California it’s taken me awhile to get some of the things back here (lots of little things shoved in every available crevice of my suitcase- running to the UPS store with boxes to ship) but we’ve finally got a lot of the items home.  Two of my favorites are Candyland and Chutes and Ladders. 

I remember spending hours playing these games.  When I saw them on the shelves in target- it just wasn’t the same.  The playing figures are different, the images are different, it’s too “the new millennium”.  I’m so happy to have the 70’s version around.  I love playing these games with Ryder, it brings me back.  I see his excitement when he pulls one of the picture cards in Candyland (even if it brings him back to the beginning).  I totally remember that feeling, I too loved the picture cards, even if it meant going all the way to the beginning (I guess that is before you learn the concept of winning and losing- ahhh those are the days- the days of innocence). 

I’m happy to be making new memories and remembering old ones.  I hope someday he and Saige will be sharing these with their children.

What we remember from childhood we remember forever – permanent ghosts, stamped, inked, imprinted, eternally seen. -Cynthia Ozick