I had a little spa party at my house a couple weekends ago with some friends.

  My friend sells organic skin care/personal care products called Miessence and she wanted to have a spa party where we did mini facials and tried all the products.  It was a great way to spend a couple hours on Sunday- pampering ourselves and having a good time. Wow, did my face feel like a baby’s bum after that.  It made me realize I’m not 16 anymore and I probably need to do a little more to my daily routine.

Anyways, since we were doing mini facials with Lavender I wanted to keep with the theme and I made Lavender Lemonade ( a recipe I received from the Sonoma Garden Park).  It was super yummy (I used probably 2 too many lemons- but if you like tart then it works.  I cut the lavender from our bushes in the morning (sorry bee friends).  I wish our lemons would have been ready.  If you have a lavender bush this is a great way to use that lavender.

boil 2 quarts of water and steep 1 cup of fresh lavender for 20 minutes – add fresh squeezed lemon juice (to taste)- I used about 8 (and I squeezed every last drop out of them) – 6 would have been plenty.

Nice refreshing drink for these hot summer days and a great way to use that lavender.