Well, I think I have found a solution to my problem (see the link below)….

http://www.trudeaucorp.com/us/products/kids/types/sandwich-box/p-fuel-30301998.html

I found these at Safeway and at first thought- oh, I’m sure it’s not BPA free but to my surprise they are!  And they came in orange! Ryder’s favorite color.  They are perfect.  I bought one for each of us- Doug and I bring our lunch to work- which usually consists of a sandwich- so these are great- your sandwich doesn’t get all smooshed and yucky.  For Ryder it’s big enough to hold 1/2 sandwich and some cheddar bunnies or pretzels or carrot sticks (or whatever little snack you are sending).  Plus super inexpensive. 

So I have found what I was looking for.  They have a whole line of eco-friendly products.  Maybe you can find what works for you.