So I have another delicious way to use all that zucchini you have in your garden…..zucchini cakes (kinda like crab cakes).  Oh so yummy.  I took some day old garlic/jack bread from a local bakery (so good- big pieces of roasted garlic baked inside the bread) and I dried it out in the oven then threw it in the food processor to make bread crumbs.  Grate/shred the zucchini add a couple eggs (depending on how much zucchini you use will determine the amount of eggs) and the breadcrumbs, and more cheese (if you like cheesy goodness) and salt and pepper to taste. One batch I sliced onion and added to the mixture (you can pretty much add whatever else you like -maybe chopped red peppers).  Mix it up then make into patties and put in pan with hot oil (you don’t need a lot) cook until golden brown on each side (I sometimes like them a little more than golden).  So yummy.

Ryder loved them too. 

Sorry no picture to go along with this entry- but try it- I can guarantee you’ll like it.

I know I will be sad in the middle of winter when I don’t have a zucchini plant to go pick from – but man, one little plant sure provided us with a good amount of zucchini (and the neighbors too).  I sliced and shredded some and put it in the freezer- it’s a bit of an experiment.  I figured the shredded can be used later for these cakes, or cookies, or bread (won’t matter if it’s a bit mushy) and the sliced I’m hoping will hold their shape and consistency so I can use it for fritattas or stir fry.  We’ll see – I’ll let you know how the experiment turns out.