My friend just had a little boy 4 weeks ago, so my favorite gift to give is a handmade blanket.  Her “theme” was nautical.  So I found the sweetest fabric with little sailboats and I appliqued a big sailboat and embroidered his initials and date of birth.  I fell in love with the chenille I used for the backing.  They live in Chicago – so it will be nice and warm for the little fella come winter.  I wish I could wrap myself up in that chenille. 

It’s really pretty awesome to see this little guy.  The mother of Evan was at my house the day my parent’s brought me home from the hospital.  There is a picture of her and my brother sitting on the couch holding me.  She was only 4 or 5 at the time.  It’s so great to be a part of her child’s life and her to be a part of our children’s life. 

I’ve always known this but there is nothing better than old friends.  Every time I go back to Chicago I am quickly reminded of this.  There is something about the history we share with each other, no matter how much time passes, things just seem to pick up where we left off. 

I was lucky enough to see my other friend’s baby- whom I’ve been friends with since preschool (we even roomed together in College- and survived!)  It’s great to see our children playing together.  Our other BFF is going to have her first in November – so we are all excited about the much anticipated arrival (especially since we don’t know the sex). 

Just wanted to share the latest creation.  Sweet dreams baby Evan

‘We’ll be Friends Forever, won’t we, Pooh?’ asked Piglet.
‘Even longer,’ Pooh answered. ”
— AA Milne (From Winnie the Pooh)