I can’t believe a year has gone by already!  I have always gotten very emotional on Ryder’s birthday and I did the same with Saige- I think back to the day I gave birth to them, what I was doing that day, how I felt on my way to delivery, during delivery, the moments after- it’s like a wave that washes over me- I can almost smell the smells of the day, everything.  It’s almost an out of body experience to relive those moments.  It’s bitter sweet.  I love watching them grow but at the same time I miss being pregnant, I miss the feeling of being about to deliver a baby, the feeling while delivering (I’m sure some of you are thinking I’m crazy- but it is such a powerful feeling of bringing a life to this world that it alleviates any feelings of discomfort), and I miss that feeling of holding your baby for the first time. 

I know I’ve said it before, that if I could have a brood of kids I would.  But I am also so excited to see my little girl turn 1, and see how she is becoming a little girl and watching her experience the world around her and ohh, to watch her and Ryder interact is just heart warming.  To hear them playing together and laughing just melts me!  She is standing on her own and almost walking.  She has such a strong personality and is such a lover.  And boy, you should see her dance and play instruments!  She’s going to be my dancing partner – I can’t wait!

So, for her big day we had a nice dinner and cake with Grammy Kathy and Papa Bill. 

I had ordered the birthday ring this year for the kids- I just love those and the more candles the better (Ryder loves blowing out candles- what child doesn’t).  My parents wanted to get her a special doll- so I found these dolls I fell in love with.  I had been searching for waldorf dolls and I do like the KatheKruse dolls but these bamboletta dolls just spoke to me, from the hair to the clothes.  So when Saige opened her doll she started hugging it and rolling around on the floor with her, it was darling and I knew she just found her special friend.

These dolls are handmade in Canada by a mom- they are so sweet and they do custom orders.

Ryder and I made her a mermaid cake (per his request). 

Let’s just say I’m not Duff from Ace of Cakes, but it worked.  Kendra made an adorable banner and brought it over that day and I made the happy birthday banner I had been procrastinating on.  It was a perfect day.

Happy Birthday my sweet girl!

Because time itself is like a spiral, something special happens on your birthday each year:  The same energy that God invested in you at birth is present once again.  ~Menachem Mendel Schneerson