This month I have been a soup fanatic.  I can’t seem to get enough of it.  First off, I love soup on cold winter days (not that we’ve been having many of those lately).  But anyways, secondly, Ryder’s ayurvedic Dr. says soup is good for him and it’s a great place to add the spices that are beneficial for his body type (in the ayurvedic world).  So I was pleasantly surprised to see a few great soup recipes in January’s Sunset.  The one that caught my eye was the Toasted Bread, Bean and Vegetable Soup

 

Toasted Bread, Bean, and Vegetable Soup from Sunset

 

It had everything that is good for Ryder in it, plus we have a ton of swiss chard in our garden, I had just bought a huge bunch of carrots at the farmers market, we had day old bread and we always have beans on hand.  So I decided if I was going to make this soup I was going to make a couple others in the magazine but I didn’t have enough vegetable broth so I figured let’s make some homemade. 

 

This is how I spent my New Years Day, making soup.  It was perfect.  I made some homemade vegetable stock (the recipe I found in an Alice Waters cookbook)

 

Notes, Lessons, and Recipes from a Delicious Revolution
After making the vegetable stock I took the veggies I used in the stock and pureed them to use later as a vegetable bisque (I just can’t throw away food).  I froze the pureed veggies, the remainder of the vegetable stock and the left over toasted bread, bean and vegetable soup (after we all ate huge bowls of it for dinner). 
It was great, one day and all this soup which will feed us for a long time.
A week later we tried the Creamy Cauliflower soup
Creamy Cauliflower Soup from Sunset
which doesn’t have an ounce of cream in it- ohhhh so yummy!
The other recipe that made me crave soup (but we haven’t tried yet) is the Romesco Soup
Romesco Soup from Sunset
Doesn’t that look good!
I just love a good soup and a nice salad and some warm bread – to me that makes the perfect dinner!
Hope you and your family enjoy these as much as we do.