We never really got too crazy with Valentine’s Day around here, until we had kids.  I think once Doug and I went out for dinner and it was such a hoax that we never did it again- it was overpriced, not so good and way too crowded.  Everyone who never goes out, goes out on that night (kinda like New Year’s Eve).  I know I sound like a bah humbug but I don’t need a specific day to tell Doug how much I love him – that happens everyday (well most days !). 

But then we had Ryder and Ryder started school and I remembered how much fun it was to hand out valentine cards and have a little party and eat candy, etc.  So last year was our first year for this at his preschool.  We are discourage in bringing candy/cookies/sweets and I didn’t want to buy junk made in China – it was a big delimma.  So I had this recipe for homemade playdough I had been looking at for months so I thought this would be a perfect present for the kids, it  was homemade and it wasn’t toxic.  Perfect.  So Ryder and I went to work on the playdough.  Then we had to figure out a pretty package for it- so we stamped red hearts on little brown lunch bags.  I was very happy with the end result and we had tons of fun working on it.

I do remember, though, we did it the night before and it was a bit stressful towards the end (I don’t like feeling rushed with something like that).  So I had been thinking about this years Valentine’s gifts for his classmates and I am borrowing from a party favor my friend received at a birthday party.  I couldn’t resist – I thought it was brilliant.  We gave compostible plant containers with a bag of organic potting soil and a seed (Ryder has decided on sunflower seeds) .  It helps that I work at a home improvement center, but I thought that was so cute and clever.  Ryder has made some paintings and went heart crazy- we cut out hearts from the paintings and glued them on to hearts we cut out of construction paper.

img_9976

 

img_9990

I love the idea of getting children involved in gardening and not everyone has a garden-but this is something that will get their hands in the dirt

img_9985

and give them something of their own to be proud of as they watch it grow.  Plus – how cool will it be when these sunflowers grow to be bigger than the kids!  I remember my best friends Dad growing sunflowers and they were HUGE and I always thought they were so rad!  And how can you not smile when you see a sunflower- it’s like looking at a big smiling face.

We had so much fun putting them together and passing them out to all of Ryder’s friends and teachers at his party.  I hope they enjoy watching their sunflowers grow.

img_9995

Hope you all had a great Valentine’s Day and I would love to hear what type of crafts you and your little ones did for Valentines.