Crafting with kids doesn’t have to be extravagent or require a lot of supplies, it can be as simple as glue, magazines and construction paper. I’d have to say most of us have magazines/old books and glue on hand, the construction paper might not be a staple in some homes, but it’s easy to find at the store and it might be something you want to keep on hand (you can do so much with construction paper).  Anyways, with these three supplies you can do so many projects.

 Two projects that we’ve come to enjoy and I remember doing when I was little (and still have fun doing today) are collages and paper chains.
I have stacks of magazines that we go through and cut pictures out of (all kids love cutting) and if you aren’t sure about letting your little ones use scissors you can tear the pictures out (which I kinda like the torn edges when I’m making a collage). I will either have Ryder just pick out whatever images he wants or sometimes we’ll come up with a theme, like animals, and we’ll find all the pictures of animals and then some elmers glue and contstruction paper and you’re done. You can find kids books at garage sales or thrift stores for $0.25 and these are great for finding pictures for collages. I’ve found that I’m enjoying making collages for myself. I use it as inspiration. I recently made a spring collage and it gives me inspiration on a rainy day or when I’m sewing. Great to pull colors from or patterns.
The second use for the construction paper and glue is paper chains. I’m sure you all remember making those in grammer school. I love them. They are so colorful and fun to hang in the kids room. Just an added splash of color. We just made a “spring” chain with springy/easter colors. So we’ll keep that up while we wait for springs arrival.

img_0339

img_0657