So yesterday Ryder and I were watching a show on Animal Planet about a sanctuary for elephants. One of the elephants was pregnant and they showed the birth on the show (it was soooooooo very cool – I actually cried – which isn’t hard to believe b/c I cry over a lot of stuff). Anyways it was amazing to see this and they showed a lot – the water breaking, the blood on the ground, obviously the baby coming out. So that started the spanish inquisition….. why was there all that water? where is the dad? how are babies made? why was there blood? etc etc, etc. I didn’t think I would be having this convo so early but no time like the present!

It was actually good that he witnessed it in the animal kingdom. He is really into knowing all there is to know about different animals and why they do the things they do (like sharks biting people or eating sea lions) so this was a good introduction.

Well when he began the inquisition I wasn’t expecting it ( I guess when are you ever expecting anything when you have children) so I had to think quickly. He asked about the father and why he wasn’t there and of course I made some kind of comment like “well in the animal kingdom the father just comes in does his thing and then leaves the woman to raise the baby”. Probably shouldn’t have said it – but it is true for many animals. So then came, the ever popular, “why?” and “how does the daddy help make the baby?” I used an analogy I knew he could relate to….. cooking. We cook a lot together and in my head I was thinking about the sperm and the egg and how was I going to explain that but when the word egg popped into my head I immediately thought ingredients. So in our house this is how babies are made…. the daddy has some ingredients and so does the mama and they mix up their ingredients and put it in the mama where it cooks for 9 months and then the baby is ready to be born. He actually understood that and didn’t ask “why?” SUCCESS! I don’t like to make up stories – we tell Ryder the truth and don’t sugar coat too much but there are just some things that they can’t grasp and don’t really need to right now. But this wasn’t falsifying anything – it is pretty much what happens minus a couple words like intercourse, sperm, egg, fallopian tubes, etc.

I felt good about that explanation.

Then we moved on to the water breaking. My explanation/analogy was a water balloon and trying to get something out of the balloon. Again he totally got it.

This continued for about an hour. Sex ed at the age of 4 1/2. I do feel good about his understanding and me not overwhelming him (b/c I have been known to do that… example…. do not eat the mushrooms you see in the yard or out in the forest. “why?” Because they can kill you! Doug thought this was a bit too much but when Doug said “you can get sick” Ryder’s response was “well I can just take some medicine” so when I told him you can die – he got it – and then told his friends and teachers about it!

I hope if you encounter the inquisition my explanations may help you muttle through.

Have you been asked some crazy questions that you weren’t quite expecting yet? How did you respond?