Friday was one of my days to work at Ryder and Saige’s school to do gardening.  I started this back in September, I go two times a month (if possible more) and I work on little projects.  Sometimes we are out in the garden, other times we have done things in the classroom.  This week we planted seeds.  I have saved egg cartons for a couple months ( I think Doug is happy to have the stack gone – I always seem to have a stack of discarded items hanging around waiting for a project) and in these we planted our seeds.  I bought a whole bunch of seeds for the kids, tomatoes, carrots, radishes, cucumbers, broccoli, lettuce, edamame, sugar snap peas, tri-colored beans, nasturtiums, and spinach.  I tore the cartons in half so we could plant in the little egg slots and then also in the top.  The big seeds are easy to work with – the very tiny seeds – not so much.  Let me remind you these are kids ranging in age from 2 – 5.  It went fairly smooth – had to move some seeds around in a few, but for the most part they did great. 

My goal is to get these growing to starts and then use these for planting in the actual garden this year – and if it goes really good, possibly have a mini plant sale on earth day to help raise money for future garden projects ( I have big hopes- but you gotta dream big!).  I will be thrilled if we get even a couple plants to use in our garden.  So I brought them home with me so I can keep a closer eye on them and put them in a mini greenhouse (until I can build a bigger one).  I know it’s really early but I figure if we lose some – then we still have time to replant and get them growing again.

I love to hear all those little voices asking if they can help and to see how each one has their own technique.  Some pile the soil into big mounds, others are very meticulous and have it completely even.  Some make perfect little holes with their fingers, evenly spaced – others throw the seeds into one pile in the corner. 

My main goal was met, the kids got their hands dirty and we talked about the different vegetables, what their favorites were, how they liked to eat them and how the plants grow.   It was a great day.

After two hours of that, I went home and spent the next 3 hours cleaning up our garden – I was so jazzed from the energy of the children at school – they were so excited to get these planted and are so excited at the prospect of watching them grow –  I couldn’t waste that energy.  Let’s just say I was sore that day!

 Some of our past projects have included….. forcing bulbs, pine cone and peanut butter birdfeeders, building scarecrows, cleaning up the veggie beds, corn husk dolls, sunflower art made from plates and corn husks and sharing homemade corn chowder (not a big hit with the kids – but they all at least tried it!) 

scarecrow building with my friend Krissy

                                        making pizza with the kids for Ryder’s birthday

We forced hyacinth bulbs right before christmas

We didn’t use the dough they made (I brought some for eating that I made the night before) but the kids had fun making it a rolling it out and then kneading and kneading and kneading and kneading!!!!!

cleaning the garden beds

 

digging in the dirt

Do you have special projects you work on with your kids, either in the garden or not?  What are some of your favorite veggies to plant?