We LOVE bread!  Definitely a carb family.  I have been making it a goal to NOT buy bread but to only make it.  I feel if we are going to eat bread – it should be homemade.  I know I’ve written about my new found LOVE of the bread machine but I will remind you about that LOVE.  I LOVE LOVE LOVE it!  I’m not a fan of baking the bread in the machine – but to make the dough in the machine – walk away and then pull it out and put it in a loaf pan and bake it – superb!  You don’t get the weird hole from the paddle, the weird shape from the bread machine pan, but for a busy mama who wants wholesome homemade bread – this is the perfect solution.  Trust me – I like to have my hands in the dough and kneading it – but reality sets in – I can make a dozen loaves in the time I can make 1 (not truly) but you know what I mean.  So this is how we are taking the little shortcuts to having homemade wholesome bread.

I made a loaf the other day and it truly was the BEST loaf yet…… Is this weird that I am so excited about a loaf of bread?!  Even if it is, I’m going to run with it – it was YUMMY!  It was a honey wheat bread – but of course I had one drop of honey left in the pantry, so I used agave nectar instead and I added a couple teaspoons of flax seed – OMG – so sweet, moist and delicious.  It took about 3 minutes to drop the ingredients in the pan and then turn on the machine and walk away until an hour and a half later, you remove the dough, place in the loaf pan, let rise until double and bake at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes (give or take).  There you have it.  Anyone can do it.  No excuse now for buying preservative laden bread anymore.  Try it and you’ll see just how simple it is. 

And what is better than the smell of fresh baked bread? Not much.

Honey Wheat Bread

1C Water plus 1 T warm water

1 egg

2 T Honey (or agave nectar)

1 tsp salt

2 1/2 C bread flour

3/4 C whole wheat flour

1 package yeast

(sometimes I reverse the whole wheat flour and bread flour amounts- you get a bit of a denser bread)

put the ingredients in the order above in your bread machine and turn it on to the dough setting and walk away.

once the dough cycle is complete – remove dough and place into a greased loaf pan, let dough rise to desired height

bake for about 30 (+/-) minutes at 350

slice and enjoy 🙂