Two Friday’s ago, as I was doing my Friday night ritual (a glass of wine and the paper – the garage sale section to be exact) checking to see what treasures were out there for the next mornings hunt.  And much to my delight I see “worm bin”!  I have been wanting a worm bin – I was going to make one out of an old wine box – but with all the other projects on our plate – that was towards the bottom (unfortunately).  So when I saw this I was stoked – “we’re there!” 

With coffee in hand (of course) and kids in tow, off we went on Saturday and there it was – right at the front of the driveway – The Can-O -Worms!

Exactly what I’ve been looking for – I’ll take it!  And only $20 – score.  Good thing we got there when we did because as I was telling the lady that I would buy it – someone was walking up behind me asking about it.  Phew!  It was fate, I realized I knew the lady from the local yarn store – which was good because I only had a check with me and she wasn’t really wanting to take a check but once we started chatting about the yarn store – I was in!

Ryder and I set up the bin with some of our compost and now we sit and wait and watch.  I keep checking on them everyday – expecting a gold light to come shining out as I open the bin (liquid gold – that’s what the worm tea is).  I can’t wait to start using it in the garden.

Does anyone have any suggestions or tips on the Can-O-Worms?  I can’t wait to get this all dialed in and eventually I will be bringing a small one to the kids school.  Love them red wigglers!

Worms are the shit!