savory tart

I have been LOVING savory tarts lately.  The tart crust is super simple to make and you’ll never guess where I got the recipe from?!  Yep, you guessed it The Art of Simple Food (if you have not already gone out to get this you must).   🙂

2C flour

1/2 C ice cold water

12 TBSP butter

1/2 tsp salt (omit if using salted butter)

cut butter into cubes – work into flour – I like using my hands for this but you can use a stand mixer with a paddle attachment on low for 30 seconds.  Start pouring water (about 1/2 the water) in (along the sides of the bowl if using stand mixer) – use only enough water to form a dough ball that pulls away from the sides of the bowl and is not too sticky.

Split dough into two, cover with plastic wrap and flatten into disks and chill.  After chilled – when ready to use – pull out and let dough get a little warmed up so it’s malleable and easier to roll.

I usually double the recipe and freeze the rounds that I am not using. 

I use all different kinds of veggies for my tarts – whatever is in season and ready in my garden or at the farmers market.  I always use a lot of onions (cooked very slowly so they get super sweet – almost caramelized).  I have been using a lot of chard and kale lately but truly it’s just whatever is around and of course cheese to top it off.

Place the sautéed veggies in the middle of the rolled out dough – leaving about 1/2 inch border and then fold that border over the veggies – leaving an exposed middle.

Brush the crust with egg and milk so it gets nice and crispy and golden.

Bake at 375 for 45 – 55 minutes and enjoy. 

The beauty is you can put in whatever you want.  And keep changing it up as the seasons change.  I also use the same recipe for my fruit tarts – I like it because it’s not uber sweet and it really highlights the fruit.

Peach Tart