My hoop finally arrived last Friday!  I have been wanting to get a hoop for so long and, for some odd reason, felt like it wasn’t necessary or I’d probably never do it or whatever other ridiculous reason I was telling myself.  Then I was reading my good friend Kendra’s blog and was totally motivated (plus I knew I would have someone to hoop with too).  So I ordered one up.  After I ordered it I couldn’t wait to tell Kendra and then she told me she found directions on the internet to make them (of course there’s instructions on the internet).  Well I had to see – even though I had my hoop coming – you need to have more than one for the kids, friends, potentially double hooping, etc.  So I started googling how to make a hula hoop – holy smokes – there are TONS of places to find info – lots of great “how to” videos on youtube.  Since I work for a local home improvement center I have all the supplies at my finger tips.  I was able to make 3 hoops for $5! 

This is how we’ve been making the hoops

3/4″ irrigation tubing at 160psi (I like the weight of this) you can use 1″ too but I feel it’s a bit to heavy for us.

3/4″ connector for the tubing

tape – the sites I viewed suggested “gaffer tape” but we don’t sell it so I just used good old colored vinyl tape found in our electrical dept.  The gaffer tape is a cotton tape that gripes your clothing a bit so there is some friction to help with the hooping – but we haven’t found any problems hooping with the vinyl tape.

Some of the sites say to heat up the ends of the tubing with a blow dryer but I found a video on youtube that suggested heating up a pot of water and submerging the end of the tube into the boiling water to make it more pliable and that totally worked – much better than the blow dryer – the connector slipped right on.

And that’s all – you can wrap the hoops however you want.  It’s been so much fun.  I’ve been hooping everyday since my hoops arrival.  I’ve got the bruises to show.  But in the week I’ve been doing it I’ve figured out a couple tricks/moves so I’m stoked.  And now I’ve got Ryder totally addicted.  He asks to watch the videos on the computer and then he wants to go out and practice 🙂  Yesterday, while Saige napped, Ryder and I hooped for an hour to Michael Franti (who is my LOVE)- what a way to spend the afternoon 🙂  He has even mastered two hoops at once! 

After dinner last night we headed to the backyard for our nightly “after dinner play” and Saige was flying on her swing, I was hooping, Ryder hooped a little (so he could show Doug his double hooping) and then he grabbed his rope swing and was spinning like a trapeze artist.  Doug looked around and laughed (he’s got his own private circus!)  It’s so fun.

Here are a couple awesome hooping videos – just so inspiring and they make it look so effortless and graceful.  Someday 😉