We LOVE granola bars in our house.  But sometimes finding “good” granola bars that aren’t uber expensive  – well, that’s a challenge.  So you can imagine how excited I was to see this super easy recipe for homemade granola bars.  I like it because it’s all ingredients I always have around and I’ve figured out that you don’t need as much of the brown sugar or butter and you can add any fixings (I omit the chocolate chips – unless I’m making them as more of a treat). 

I recently (yesterday) made a double batch for “snack day” at Ryder’s school.  Once a month each family is responsible for bringing snacks for all of the kids.  I really like the additions I made for “snack day”.  I used almond butter instead of peanut butter, I added some unsweetened coconut, dried cherries and almond extract – then kept the recipe as is (limiting the sugar and butter) and I cooked it for double the time.   So yummy 🙂

The hint of coconut with the almond and cherries – delish – now I just wish there were left overs!  Looks like I know what we’ll be doing tomorrow. 

I always have my taste tester (Ryder) try out my new recipes – I got the “thumb’s up” on this one 🙂  Man I love that boy!